Home > Helpful Tips > Social Security’s New Mental Impairments Listings Go Into Effect January 17, 2017

Source: Reprinted from the September 2016 Newsletter of Sheri R. Abrams, Attorney at Law, www.sheriabrams.com

One way a claimant can be approved for Social SecurityDisability or Supplemental Security Income (SSI) is to be found to meet one of the medical listings.

These Listings are grouped by the specific disability involved, whether physical or mental or a combination of several physical or mental disorders.

Under the appropriate diagnosis is a list of requirements that must be shown before the claimant is considered to be disabled. This allows Social Security’s guidelines to be strictly regulated and uniform, and relatively simple to interpret.

Several years after proposing changes to the mental impairments, Social Security has finally completely revised these listings. The new listings were published at 81 Fed reg. 66138 (September 26, 2016). They are effective for cases decided on or after January 17, 2017.

These new listings for Adults are:

12.02  Neurocognitive disorders

12.03 Schizophrenia spectrum and other psychotic disorders

12.04 Depressive, bipolar and related disorders

12.05 Intellectual disorder

12.06 Anxiety and obsessive-compulsive disorders

12.07 Somatic symptom and related disorder

12.08 Personality and impulse-control disorders

12.09 [Reserved]

12.10 Autism spectrum disorder

12.11 Neurodevelopmental disorders

12.12 [Reserved]

12.13 Eating disorders

12.14 [Reserved]

12.15 Trauma-and stressor-related disorders

For detailed information on these new and revised listings please click here.